On my new job

I start my new full-time job at the Fred Hollows Foundation tomorrow. I will be in charge of the information, knowledge management and education unit of the organisation. I am really looking forward to working back in the NGO sector and in international development. It will also make my involvement in KM4dev and Society for International Development more relevant.

It’s sort of a full circle for me since my first full-time job was working for an international development NGO, Australian Freedom From Hunger Campaign (AFFHC). That was quite some ago, but it feels like yesterday!

There will be some differences for me though, having worked in the Sydney CBD for most of my working life, and now working out in the suburbs. The organisation will also be different to me, having working in the banking and finance industry for almost twenty years.

The new position combines my personal interests and professional skills very well and this match really appealed to me when considering my working options. I look forward to the new challenges with the Fred Hollows Foundation and helping to make a real difference beyond just the organisational borders.

I hope to relate some of my experiences and observations in this new workplace context through more regular blog postings – so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

